Kevin MacNeil

Kevin MacNeil (b. 1972)
Photograph of Kevin MacNeil by Charlotte MacNeil
Kevin MacNeil © Charlotte MacNeil



Kevin MacNeil is a novelist, poet and playwright, now lecturing in creative writing at the University of Stirling.

Full Biography

Kevin MacNeil was born and raised on the Isle of Lewis in a Gaelic-speaking environment. He was a British Council Writer in Residence at Uppsala University, Sweden, and has taught at Kingston University and the University of Edinburgh. He has written for radio, television and film and collaborated with visual artists and musicians. He edited the short stories of Iain Crichton Smith, and in 2017 an anthology of Robert Louis Stevenson's essays and stories. MacNeil is the author of four novels and several plays.   
MacNeil’s own poetry collections are Love and Zen in the Outer Hebrides (Canongate, 1998), which won the Tivoli Europa Giovani International Prize in 2000, and Be Wise Be Otherwise (Canongate, 2001). In 2011 he compiled the anthology These Islands, We Sing (Polygon), and in 2015 Struileag: Shore to Shore, an anthology celebrating the Gaelic diaspora.

Poems by Kevin MacNeil