Enitharmon Press

Enitharmon Press is the most venerable of the independent poetry presses.

Founded in 1967 by the bibliophile and collector Alan Clodd, it soon established a reputation for high production quality, painstaking editorial standards and the resurrection of neglected texts from particularly prolific literary periods. The name of the press derived from William Blake’s Enitharmon, a muse of poetry and painting and representation of spiritual beauty. The logo of the Press derives from a Blake woodcut.
Our ambition is to publish a range of writers, dictated neither by convention nor fashion. We are as proud of our work with new and emerging writers as we are of the books we have produced with some of the most popular and well established poets and artists of our time. We have also often collected poems together in thematic anthologies compiled by leading writers and scholars.
In its early years Enitharmon Press was associated with such leading literary figures as Samuel Beckett, Harold Pinter, Kathleen Raine and John Heath-Stubbs. More recently we have worked with such distinguished writers as Seamus Heaney, Paul Muldoon, Simon Armitage, Sir Geoffrey Hill and Michael Longley.

Scottish poets

Enitharmon has published these Scottish poets:

Robert Henryson
George MacBeth
Edwin Morgan
Kathleen Raine

Submission guidelines


Contact details