Carcanet Press

Carcanet Press is one of the outstanding independent literary publishers of our time. Now in its fifth decade, Carcanet publishes the most comprehensive and diverse list available of modern and classic poetry in English and in translation, as well as a range of inventive fiction, Lives and Letters and literary criticism.

In 2000 it was named the Sunday Times Millennium Small Publisher of the Year. Five of its authors have received Nobel Prizes, nine have received the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry and seven have received Pulitzer Prizes, among many other honours. Its FyfieldBooks - popularly-priced selections from the great European and American classics, from ancient to modern times - are at the core of its activities. So too is its OxfordPoets imprint, formerly the poetry list of Oxford University Press. Other imprints include Northern House, Lintott Press and Sheep Meadow Press.

Carcanet issues the controversial and illuminating literary magazine PN Review which appears six times a year and celebrated its 200th issue in summer 2011. It also distributes the short fiction specialist Comma Press, and the Optic Nerve Rockdrill CD Series, in collaboration with Birkbeck College, London.

Carcanet also publish a series of European poetry in translation anthologies in association with the Scottish Poetry Library.

Scottish poets

Carcanet Press has published these Scottish poets:

Iain Bamforth
Lucy Burnett
John Burnside
Thomas A. Clark
Peter Davidson
Gerrie Fellows
G. S. Fraser
Robert Henryson
David Kinloch
Frank Kuppner
William Letford
Pippa Little
Sorley MacLean
Hugh MacDiarmid
James MacPherson
Peter McCarey
Gerry McGrath
Kei Miller
Edwin Morgan
Richard Price
Sean Rafferty
Sir Walter Scott
Burns Singer
Iain Crichton Smith
Muriel Spark
James Sutherland-Smith
Margaret Tait
Andrew Young

Scottish poetry titles

Carcanet Press has published the following Scottish poetry titles in 2017:

David Kinloch: In search of Dustie-Fute

Scottish poetry titles in 2016:

William Letford: Dirt
Richard Price: Moon for sale

Scottish poetry titles in 2015:

Edwin Morgan with James McGonigal & John Coyle (editors): The midnight letterbox: selected correspondence 1950-2010 
Muriel Spark: Complete poems

Scottish poetry titles in 2014:

Peter France & Robyn Marsack (translators): After Lermontov : translations for the bicentenary 
Thomas A. Clark: Yellow & blue 
Kei Miller: The cartographer tries to map a way to Zion
Muriel Spark: The golden fleece: essays
Muriel Spark: The essence of the Brontes: a compilation with essays

Scottish poetry titles in 2013:

Iain Bamforth: The crossing fee
Lucy Burnett: Leaf graffiti
Peter Davidson: Distance and memory 

Scottish poetry titles in 2012:

Frank Kuppner: The same life twice
William Letford: Bevel
Pippa Little: Overwintering
Gerry McGrath: Rooster
Richard Price: Small world
Margaret Tait with Sarah Neely (editor): Poems, stories and writings

Scottish poetry titles in 2011:

David Kinloch: Finger of a Frenchman
Peter McCarey: Collected contraptions
Iain Crichton Smith with Matthew McGuire (editor): New collected poems

Submission guidelines

Carcanet considers submissions and book proposals submitted in hard copy form only. For full submission information and to listen to an interview with Michael Schmidt about submissions, please visit

Contact details