Canongate Books

Canongate was founded in 1973.

The company nearly went under in 1994, but became independent again following a management buyout by current Publisher and Managing Director, Jamie Byng. It has since emerged as one of the most dynamic publishing houses in Britain. With a distinctly international outlook, Canongate Books continues to nurture and publish new talent from around the world, whilst retaining the essence of the Scottish Canon. We have no specific agenda other than to promote and publish challenging, quality work from as broad a perspective as we are able. We are one of the founding members of the Independent Alliance, a global alliance of ten UK publishers and their international partners who share a common vision of editorial excellence, original, diverse publishing, innovation in marketing and commercial success. Canongate Books has offices in Edinburgh and London, with partners in New York and Melbourne.

Scottish poets

Canongate has published these Scottish poets:

Patience Agbabi
John Barbour
Robert Burns
Gavin Douglas
William Dunbar
Michel Faber
Gillian Ferguson
Olive Fraser
Valerie Gillies
Lewis Grassic Gibbon
Alasdair Gray
Andrew Greig
Robert Henryson
Liz Lochhead
Norman MacCaig
Sorley MacLean
Kevin MacNeil
Brian McCabe
Edwin Morgan
Naomi Mitchison
William Montgomerie
Caitriona Montgomery (NicGumaraid)
Edwin Muir
William Neill
Liz Niven
Janet Paisley
Walter Perrie
Tom Pow
Alastair Reid
William Soutar
Alan Spence
Derick Thomson
James Thomson
Robin Williamson

Scottish poetry titles

Canongate published the following Scottish poetry titles in 2016:

Michel Faber: Undying: a love story

Scottish poetry titles in 2015:

Michel Faber: Poems for Eva

Scottish poetry titles in 2014:

Patience Agbabi: Telling tales

Submission guidelines

Contact details