Les Murray

Les Murray (b. 1938)



Les Murray is a poet, anthologist, editor and critic. He is originally from New South Wales, and over the past forty years he has published nearly thirty volumes of poetry, alongside two novels in verse, and prose collections.

In 1971, following the publication of The Ilex Tree (with Geoffrey Lehmann, 1965) and The Weatherboard Cathedral (1969), he moved to Sydney to write full time, acting as editor of Poetry Australia between 1973 and 1979. Early collections include Poems Against Economics (1972); Lunch & Counterlunch (1974); The Vernacular Republic (1976); a volume of Selected Poems (updated 1983, 1984, 1986, 1988); Ethnic Radio (1977); The Boys Who Stole the Funeral (1980); The People's Otherworld (1983); The Daylight Moon (1987); Dog Fox Field (1990) and Translations from the Natural World (1992).

Murray has edited several anthologies, including an Anthology of Australian Religious Poetry (1986/1991), and The New Oxford Book of Australian Verse (most recently re-issued in 1999). His work is widely translated, and has won literary awards including the Grace Leven Prize (1980, 1990), the Petrarch Prize (1995), and the T.S. Eliot Award (1996).

In 1999 he was awarded the Queens Gold Medal for Poetry on the recommendation of Ted Hughes, and in 2001 and 2002 he was shortlisted for the Canadian Griffin Poetry Prize. His most recent poetry collections are The Biplane Houses (2007), Taller When Prone (2010) and Killing the Black Dog: A Memoir of Depression (2011).