Jenni Fagan

Jenni Fagan (b. 1977)
Jenni Fagan
Jenni Fagan



Jenni Fagan is a Scottish novelist, poet, screenwriter, essayist and playwright.

Full Biography

Jenni Fagan is a Scottish novelist and poet. Her first collection Urchin Belle was published by collectable artisan press Blackheath Books. It sold out almost immediately and was nominated for The Pushcart Prize. The Dead Queen of Bohemia, 2010, was named the 3AM Poetry Book of the Year. Polygon published The Dead Queen of Bohemia: new and selected poems in 2016. 

Her first novel,The Panopticon (Heinemann, 2012)  was selected by Waterstones as one of the best worldwide debuts of 2012, and in 2013 she was named one of Granta’s Best Young British Novelists.  She has been listed for prizes including James Tait Black, Impac Dublin, The Sunday Times Short Story Prize, Desmond Elliott and The Pushcart Prize. Her work has been translated into eight languages. The Sunlight Pilgrims was published in 2016.

Jenni Fagan has worked as a Writer In Residence in several locations, and has worked with young offenders and women in prison. She was appointed Writer in Residence at University of Edinburgh in 2013.

She has recently completed the script for The Panopticon, which is in development with Sixteen Films.

Poems by Jenni Fagan