The Makar's Diary 2017

Thursday 29 June
Took part in the Royal Opera House Bridge Conference at The Historic Dockyard, Chatham.

Saturday 17 June
Attended and participated in St Magnus Festival, Orkney, where she was Festival tutor on a writers course that formed part of the festival.

Tuesday 23 May
The National Poet addressed the Church of Scotland's National Assembly.

Monday 22 May
Jackie Kay shared a stage with crime writer Val McDermid at the University of Newcastle.

Tuesday 16 May
The Makar introduced the poet Zaffar Kunial at a special event in Brighton, and they talked about poetry and the challenges of fitting in.

Saturday 25 March
Neu! Reekie! staged a special showcase for Scottish music and literature in Barcelona as part of Ksomopolis 2017. The National Poet shared a stage with FiniTribe, Eugene Kelly, Neu! Reekie!'s artistic directors, Michael Pedersen and Kevin Williamson

Saturday 18 March
The Makar appears at the Hothouse in Morecome for 'An Evening of Conversation and Poetry with Jackie Kay'.

Saturday 11 March
Attended Mother Tongue Other Tongue awards ceremony at the SECC in Glasgow. In the evening, she performed alongside the former Makar Liz Lochhead and the Glasgow poet laureate Jim Carruth at a special event at the Aye Write Festival, 'The Makars'.

Thursday 9 March
Spoke at the Scotland Working Families Awards.

Friday 3 - Saturday 4 March
During StAnza, the National Poet took part in a number of events including a StAnza Round Table intimate reading, an event contrasting StAnza past and present, and reading with T.S. Eliot Prize-winner Sarah Howe.

Tuesday 21 February
The location of the 2017 6 Music Festival was revealed in a poem read by the Makar live on 6 Music's Lauren Laverne Show.

Monday 20 February
The Makar read to pupils from four different primary schools as part of Uddingston Music Fest.

Saturday 21 January
The Makar takes part in the Migrant Voices event at Glasgow Caledonian University.