The Makar's Diary 2016

Scotland's New Makar by First Minister of Scotland under a Creative Commons licence

Monday 10 October

The Makar appears alongside novelist Kit De Waal to discuss race and identity in their work.

Thursday 6 October
For National Poetry Day, the Makar launches the first part of her official programme. She announces details of Ferlie Leed, tour that will, over five years, take her the length and breadth of Scotland. The first leg of the tour begins with an emphasis on the highlands and islands; places that have long intrigued the Makar or which she has personal connections with. 'Ferlie Leed'. To mark the announcement and National Poetry Day, the Makar headlines an event at Edinburgh College curated by Neu! Reekie!

Monday 3 October
The Makar spends the day at Milne's High School, Fochabers, Moray.

Friday 30 September
The Makar gives a talk and leads workshops at George Watson College in Edinburgh.

Thursday 22 September
The Makar reads at 'Engels Beard' event with Lindsay Taylor in Salford, the event tying in with a giant sculpture of Friedrich Engels beard.

Monday 12 September
Jackie Kay records a short poem that is read to introduce a night of poetry on BBC2 (broadcast on 1 October).

Wednesday 24 August
The Makar reads at an International Cultural Summit Gala dinner in Edinburgh.

Sunday 21 August
The Makar reads at Rannoch Tea Rooms, the first venue to fufil her pledge to find interesting and unusual places to perform, away from the usual venues poets perform in. She writes a poem 'Rannoch Loop' to mark the occassion.

Saturday 20 August
The Makar heads to Rannoch with The One Show to do filming.

Thursday 18 August
The First Minister Nicola Sturgeon interviews Jackie Kay at the EIBF. In the evening, she is present at award ceremony for the Edwin Morgan Poetry Award; the Makar was one of the judges this year.

Wednesday 17 August
The Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy and the Makar Jackie Kay read together at the EIBF. Later, she reads as part of the line-up at an Amnesty International Imprisoned Writers Series event.

Tuesday 16 August
At her second EIBF event, the Makar is joined by John Kay and Sam Ruddock to discuss the poetry of WW1.

Monday 15 August
The start of a strand curated by Jackie Kay at the Edinburgh International Book Festival. For her first event, the Makar interviewed on stage Zaffar Kunial. Together they explored the question 'What does it mean to be a British writer of mixed heritage in the 21st century?'

Thursday 4 August
The Makar leads two workshops in Kilmarnock.

Wednesday 20 July
The South Bank Show (Sky Arts) dedicates a show to Jackie Kay and her poetry.

Saturday 16 July
The Makar reads at an event at the Lattitude Festival, Suffolk.

Saturday 2 July
The Makar reads her poem 'Threshold', her first as National Poet, at the opening of Parliament.

Shore to Shore visits Topping & Company Booksellers, St Andrews.

Friday 1 July
Shore to Shore visits Atkinson-Pryce Books.

Thursday 30 June
Shore to Shore visits Mainstreet Trading, St Boswells.

Wednesday 29 June
Shore to Shore visits Forum Books, Corbridge.

Tuesday 28 June
Shore to Shore visits Bookends, Carlisle.

Monday 27 June
Shore to Shore visits Simply Books, Bramhall.

Sunday 26 June
Shore to Shore visits Palas Print, Caernarfon.

Saturday 25 June
Shore to Shore visits Booka Bookshop, Oswestry.

Friday 24 June
Shore to Shore visits Wenlock Books, Bridgnorth.

Thursday 23 June
Shore to Shore visits Book-ish, Crickhowell.

Wednesday 22 June
Shore to Shore visits Rossiter Books, Monmouth.

Tuesday 21 June
Shore to Shore visits Blackwell's Oxford and Jaffe & Neale, Chipping Norton..

Monday 20 June
Shore to Shore visits Mr B’s Emporium of Reading Delights, Bath.

Sunday 19 June
Over fourteen consecutive days across Britain from Cornwall to Scotland, the Makar joined Carol Ann Duffy, Gillian Clarke, and Imtiaz Dharker for the Shore to Shore tour. Each evening will be accompanied by music from instrumentalist and composer John Sampson plus a special guest. The tour begins in Falmouth at Falmouth Booksellers.